Linda Christopher - May 2015

"Absolutely wonderful! One of my favorite places to stay ever! Gillian and Duncan, you guys were amazing and the breakfasts were absolutely fantastic!"


Court, Pearl & Quinn Barton – January 2015

“Wonderful place, lovely hosts, absolutely delicious food!! Thank you tremendously for a great stay.”

Court, Pearl & Quinn Barton

Chanel Ebanks & Jason Rivers – January 2015

“I’m too well rested, just happy we came to this place. We love it.”

Chanel Ebanks & Jason Rivers

Jill & Norman – January 2015

“My husband and I stayed here three nights and were so glad that we did. Gillian and Duncan could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was clean and had everything we could need…including a nice collection of DVD’s to watch. The breakfasts were huge and lovely. The house sits in a very quiet and relaxing setting with iguanas and birds visiting regularly. I would strongly recommend having a car so that you can explore the island. Thank you so much for hosting us!”

Jill & Norman

Mollie – January 2015

“We picked the Shangri-la B&B for our trip because it was in our price range and looked like a nice place to stay, but if we come back to the island we will also come back to Shangri-la. The room we stayed in was lovely, the owners took a clear interest in their guests and the location on a small lake with iguanas and local water fowl was quite beautiful. It is located close to the beach, dining, and family activities. 7 mile beach, and Georgetown is a quick hop skip and a jump, and in all honesty the drive to Rum point was only an hour. I could not recommend this B&B enough.”

Mollie

Michael & Denise – January 2015

“We just returned last week from a five night vacation at Shangri-La. The guest house lived up to all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. Our room was a lovely room with a balcony. My brother and his wife had an enormous room on the ground floor. The rooms are priced according to size and amenities (e. g balcony) and are a real bargain for Grand Cayman. Gillian has taken over the B & B from her parents and is in the process of making some changes. Breakfast was wonderful so we skipped lunch every day- something we never do. The grounds are beautiful and we all spent time by the pool or in the yard by the pond. There are three wonderful restaurants a two minute drive from the B & B and others about a five minute drive. Calypso and Catch were our favorites. Cemetery Beach was our favorite beach and that is about a five minute drive. Gillian, Duncan and her parents who still reside there were wonderful hosts and provided help whenever we needed it. We really enjoyed meeting guests from Italy and other parts of the U. S. You can’t duplicate this experience at a big hotel where you will be paying a lot more money. We look forward to returning.”

Michael & Denise

Patty & Andy - August 2014

“Awesome bed & breakfast!
We recently stayed for 1 week at the Shangri-La. We stayed in the Hibiscus room. Very neat and clean room and inn. It was off the beaten path, so very quiet and peaceful at night. But was only a few minutes drive to grocery store, Cemetery Beach, 7 mile Beach and Turtle farm. Great location! Every morning we would have our coffee while sitting outside by the lake and then breakfast was served on the enclosed porch. The staff (Marissa and Venus) were very nice and made delicious breakfasts. Coffee was ready by 7:30 every morning and breakfast was 8:30-9:30. The owners, Maureen and George, are very nice and really try hard to make your stay memorable. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling to Cayman Island. We loved it!
Patty and Andy”

Patty & Andy

July 2014

“Shangri-La equals lovely!
A wonderful B&B with a lovely breakfast! This was a perfect choice for my husband and I when staying in Grand Cayman for a weeks vacation. The Davidson family were exceptionally hospitable, offering beach towels, sunblock and snorkel gear if needed!! The staff (sweet Marissa!) created a new breakfast delight each morning, including cranberry scones, date pancakes and fried plantains – just to name a few!! I’d highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a great experience and the opportunity to not stay in the tourist traps on 7-mile beach. We will definitely stay here again on our next Grand Cayman trip!”


Jane & Dave – June 2014

“Grand Cayman’s Hidden Gem.
Having lived in Grand Cayman on and off for ten years we decided to take a staycation at the Shangri-La B&B in West Bay which is tucked away down Sticky Toffee Lane. This wonderful location was ideal for a peaceful getaway overlooking the lake, but only a ten minute drive to the busy Seven Mile.
The Davidson family were great hosts and couldn’t do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable.
We have recommended this little gem to all our friends and family and will definitely stay again.
Dave & Jane”

Dave & Jane

June 2014

“Superb B&B in Grand Cayman
Trade the geographic proximity to the beach and the cruise ship hordes for the quaint charm of the Shangri-La. It’s a very short and easy drive from the beach anyways. The breakfasts are sumptuous and the conversations with the hosts, or other inngoers, add a more personal touch to the vacation than your standard hotel.”


Evan - May 2014

“Cayman Island Gem
Our daughter got married at the Westin on Seven Mile Beach and we had rented this entire house for a few days after the wedding. We shared this beautiful house with our friends and family and were very pleased with the accommodations. The grounds were well taken care of as was the entire inside of the house, The owners were very accommodating and it offered a wonderful opportunity to view some wildlife from both the screened porch and the back yard. It is a great “bang for your buck”. Keep up the good work George and Maureen
Evan”

Evan

Lesley & Roy – May 2014

“Best Bed and Breakfast I’ve ever stayed at!
By far the best bed and breakfast we have been fortunate to have stayed at! We chose to stay at the Shangri-La based on the reviews on here and our stay was even better than we had imagined. We were made to feel like family by the owners and the staff. We loved breakfast every morning, it was always fresh and different every day! We enjoyed sitting with the other guests and making new friends. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. While on the beautiful Cayman Island we didn’t intend spending much time at the bed and breakfast but found ourselves looking forward to ending our afternoons in and around the perfectly landscaped pool surrounded by palms and gorgeous flowers, and then waking up to coffee by the lake until breakfast fit for a King ! We intend to go back next year and hope to take our extended family one day! Thank you so much Davidson family for sharing your home! See you again soon.
Lesley and Roy”

Lesley & Roy

Yvonne – May 2014

“I have stayed at the Shangri-La B and B for some years now and thoroughly recommend this as a perfect holiday stay. The accommodation is to the highest standard and the location really is out of this world – best wishes.
Yvonne”

Yvonne

April 2014

“You Must Stay Here!!!!
My wife and I recently spent our honeymoon at the Shangri-La B&B and couldn’t have been happier! From the moment we arrived, George and Maureen (the owners) treated us like we were family. It is very clear that they love their B&B and truly want to provide their guest with an outstanding vacation experience. Spending time with them was a true highlight for us both!! Breakfast at the Shangri-La was amazing too. We ate ourselves silly on eggs, bacon, omelets, and all sorts of baked breakfast treats. My wife needed a nap almost everyday to recover from her breakfast intake;)
As far as the accommodations go, our room had everything we needed. A large bed, a spacious bathroom and a lovely balcony that allowed us to watch the sunset over the lake and pool each day. Our bed was made each day while we were out exploring the island, and that really helped create a space of comfort when we got back from our adventures each day. Located in West Bay, the B&B is close to the beach, many of the island’s famous attractions and a few great local restaurants (we recommend the tuna steak at Morgan’s Harbour). We chose not to rent a car while we were there, and were very thankful that the Shangri-La offered an array of bikes to allow us to get around the island. (Side note: I would recommend a car if you are heading into Georgetown or going to the East End).

Grand Cayman is an island with a lot of charm, and the Shangri-La B&B fits right in. We truly have nothing but the highest praise for our time there, and will only stay here next time we visit. Please do yourself a favor and stay here too!!”


March 2014

“Home from home
What can I add to the other excellent reviews of this exceptional B&B? I could not have felt more at home, relaxed and comfortable in Shangri-La. It consists of two houses, one entirely dedicated to the guests with its own kitchen equipped with all mod cons, together with a dining area and sitting-room. Breakfast is taken in an outdoor covered area (with mosquito netting) with a view over the lake. The floor show is provided by numerous iguanas who sun themselves in the trees and wander past. Guests sit together and the atmosphere is friendly. George and Maureen live right next door, and there are other apartments in their house. The maids keep the place spotless and serve breakfast with a smile. Very comfortable bed, air con, bath, lots of storage space. We hired a car and did not find the location inconvenient. A really happy holiday, thank you George and Maureen.”


Sylvia – February 2014

“Wonderful Stay!
Beautiful B&B. We really enjoyed our stay. The house is magnificent, staff is very friendly, helpful and everyone seems to go the extra mile for you. Food was delicious. We will definitely stay here again!”

Sylvia

January 2014

“Fantastic!
In an island filled with over-priced hotels much more expensive than Manhattan, Cayman Islands lodgings can be quite overwhelming. Then there is Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast. Tucked away in a tiny lane not far from the center of the tourist attractions, this bed and breakfast is comfortable, clean, hospitable and reasonably priced. The owners are very friendly and will make you feel at home. I highly recommend this bed & breakfast if you are staying in the Cayman Islands.”


January 2014

“Comfortable, clean and charming

Our stay at Shangri-La was very comfortable and enjoyable. Our hosts were charming, the staff was warm, the rooms were clean, the breakfasts were tasty, and the pool was inviting. One of the better deals in Grand Cayman – a lot of bang for the buck. The B&B is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood, away from the crowds yet still a short drive to Seven Mile Beach. There are also a few delicious restaurants just down the street. Book a room and enjoy!”


January 2014

“Lovely quiet little place
We loved staying at Shangri-La during our visit at Grand Cayman. The house and the rooms are lovely (we stayed in the Poinciana room) but it is possible that the breakfasts in the morning are one of the best parts. Not only incredibly delicious (and very accommodating of requests) but in an area where food is expensive, we hadn’t how much it would save us on food costs. Definitely a good idea to rent a car to go exploring – but even though it is outside of the main tourist areas it is a quick trip to most places. And being able to hear tips and ideas from the other guests over breakfast was great! Got some of the best suggestions for what to do on the island that way.”


December 2013

“A luxurious B&B with wonderful hosts
A picturesque B & B in a quiet environment set next to the lake. The hosts, George and Maureen are real characters and make your stay very special. They provide a very tasty homemade breakfast that changes on a daily basis (Blueberry pancakes, cranberry and cream cheese croissants etc). The rooms are lovely & everything you need is provided i.e. safe, fridge, wifi, water, beach towels. I would highly recommend this place to help you make the most of your stay. Reasonable prices but we had a high quality stay.
*Tip: You need to rent a car to get around the island & it’s probably best to arrange it before you arrive”


November 2013

“Beautiful best value on the island
What has been said about this charming B&B, can be said again. Beautiful but quaint in a quiet setting in West Bay near Morgans Harbour. The Inn is just 5 yrs old. The InnKeepers George & Maureen Davidson were such lovely & gracious people who would bend over to make your stay perfect.
The food was to “die for”. Every morning was a different theme. The French Toast with mixed nuts melted in your mouth. Every room has a mini refrigerator & large LED TV’s. All have DVD’s with a large library of CD’s. Ice was available for your drinks in the main kitchen so was a microwave oven.
Room Tip: They have 2 large rooms with King size beds. Both have Jacuzzi’s.”


Justin & Jane – March 2013

“George & Maureen Are the Most Excellent & Gracious Hosts
We stayed at Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast in March 2013 and had a wonderful time getting to know George & Maureen. The B&B is cozy with well appointed rooms and all the amenities you will need. We enjoyed the views, other guests and homemade breakfasts everyday.
Besides swimming with the dolphins and visiting the stingrays one of the highlights of our trip was listening to George Jr. play the piano at the Westin! Don’t miss your chance to hear a true musician. (pickup a few of his CDs as well for the trip home!)
Other than the beautiful beaches, do make sure to sample the various restaurants on the island; try the Sticky Toffee Pudding at the Calypso Grill – not far from Shangri-La or a couple lychee martinis at Yoshi Sushi.
We definitely aim to make our way back someday. Cheers to new friends!
-Justin & Jane from Canada”

Justin & Jane

Simon & Wendy – November 2012

“Beautiful setting, wonderful hosts
We were in the Caymans for 2 weeks but didn’t stay here until the end of our stay. Unfortunately, we only had the pleasure of staying here for 1 night before we flew home. The whole place is spotless, our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous and the hosts friendly and gracious. The area is safe and close to 7 mile beach.
Simon and Wendy
Saskatchewan, Canada”

Simon & Wendy